Casale Marittimo

The visit of Casale Maritime can be held as an "investigation", to be conducted by exploring and exploring the charming city center, the buildings largely of stone that follow, in concentric rings, the development of two circular walls of the Middle Ages. Often also, on the walls and in the furnishings went at different times to show archeological zone, generating singular palimpsests of architecture and furnishing.

A ramp leads to the "Castle", as this day is called the heart of the historic village, and important documents of his past. The pavement is in fact in local sandstone; a sea sediment Pliocene, as demonstrated by the fossils, especially shells, which are included. On the ramp are the local Pro Loco, where you can look at an interesting collection of photos and floor plans of the archaeological excavations in the area.

The entrance to the "Castle" is marked by the Clock Tower, built in 1854, where previously it was a door. Soon after, on the left, it is the so-called House of Camarlingo (n. 13 of Via del Castello), which was part of the walls and is certainly one of the oldest buildings of the country.

On the right starts a circular route following exactly the city walls, formed by the outer walls of the houses on the left. 19 Via del Castello, above the front door, there is a small carved stone which according to tradition would represent a skull: it is said that this was a prison.

A little farther, on the left, the bottom of a tower placed in the walls.

Once exceeded, built in 1838, on the right what was once the church of Sant'Andrea, nominated for the first time in 1305 and the mid-800, now insufficient for the community, became a primary school and, by 1874 town hall. The door of the church is visible under the vault, where he is also Lalastra marble with new units adopted after the unification of Italy.

Opposite the town hall is the palace of Canonica: a delightful example of fifteenth-century building built in 1940 and built with materials from the Roman villa (eg capitals and jambs). Inside, asking permission to the pastor, you can visit the remains of the "Roman room": the floor in black and white mosaic, fragments of colored stucco and a small painting with Sileno.

It then leaves the walls for the new church of Sant'Andrea, built in 1872-74: a bas-relief above the portal of St. Andrew's Alberto Sparapani. Inside: frescos, made by Stefano Ghezzani in 1987-88, with scenes from the life of St. Andrew; baptismal font made from a Renaissance capital; liturgical chair with arms resembling wild beast paws recovery classic.

At the opposite end of the square in front of the church is the chapel of the Madonna delle Grazie, built in 1712-16 thanks to the performance of volunteer work provided by the inhabitants.

Now it is back in the Piazza del Popolo on the eastern side there is the small church of San Sebastiano, built in 1775 and restored in 1937 with other materials of the Roman Villa. The two stone balls, a rail at the top right, the other on top of the staircase to the left side, are probably covers or memorial stones of Etruscan tombs.

Piazza del Popolo you finally get to the villages, that the quarters funded outside the walls of the "Castle" since the end of the '500, along the Via della Fonte, with narrow streets, porches, stairs and ditches.


Discover Casale Marittimo surroundings MORE INFO